SGA Book Review: Reliquary

   This was the first Stargate Novel to catch my attention and therefore the first one I had the opportunity to read. Needless to say Martha Wells’ amazing story brought me in hook, line, and sinker.

   Since then I have read many wonderful Stargate Novels from a variety of talented and imaginative authors, yet recently I found myself re-reading ‘Reliquary’ once again as it is sure to always be one of my favorites.

   And while, yes, certain aspects of the storyline bears a remarkable resemblance to the Stargate Atlantis Season Two episode, ‘Conversion’, and maybe even the Season Three episode, ‘Irresistible’, it is still a very worthwhile read.

   The quirky banter between Sheppard and McKay alone is enough to make the book enjoyable, i.e. “If we can’t get that ‘gate dialed, in just over four hours I’ll be dying of a hypoglycemic coma and you’ll be stuck here alone.” “Uh huh,” John answered absently, “Where do you want me to bury you?”

   And personally, a few (of many) of the catchiest lines from the book were Rodney’s “… There’s some cable in the MALP’s compartment, but we’ll need that to hang ourselves if this doesn’t work.”  And later, John’s: “Rodney, I think the ‘gate just ate the ZPM.”  and of course, “Come on, the Stargate’s getting pissed off.”

    Seriously, how often do you hear phrases like that?

   Of course, everyone gets to make their appearances throughout the book, not just our favorite squabbling duo, though it is up to them to save the day, as well as the City. If they can save themselves first that is! 

   All in all this book rates up there with the best of them. Just the right amount of humor, drama, friendship, and teamwork – with a dash of constant life threatening situations and impossible odds.

   Who could ask for more?   

   In my humble opinion this book is a must read for any Stargate Atlantis fan, after all, what you don’t know can kill you.

© Donna M. Monnig

Book Details:        Paperback: 240 Pages

ISBN-13: 978-0954734374    Publish Date: March 2006

Publisher: Fandemonium Ltd. www.stargatenovels.com

 

Leave a comment